Skip to Main Content


The ETSF has two facets, a research network and a distributed user infrastructure. It consists of 68 prominent European condensed matter theory research teams led by Research Team Leaders. The ETSF has a horizontal structure. Activities are initiated and carried out by ETSF members on the basis of their motivation. Activities are grouped into teams or initiatives that are independent from each other and coordinated by a volunteer.

The global coordination is taken care of by the Steering Committee (SC). It is the ETSF representative, decision-making and arbitration body. The SC is also responsible for relationships with other scientific networks such as CECAM and PsiK. As the user-oriented initiatives have specific constraints and needs, the SC appoints a Contact group (CG) that ensures a closer coordination, promoting communication and synergy between them and with the network as a whole. The CG reports to the SC.

Composition of the Steering Committee

It consists of 9 elected Research Team Leaders and is elected every three years. The current SC members are:
    Prof. Matthieu Verstraete (Université de Liège, Belgium) - Chair
    Prof. Rex Godby (University of York, United Kingdom)
    Prof. Andrea Marini (National Research Council, Italy)
    Prof. Giovanni Onida (Università Degli Studi di Milano, Italy)
    Dr. Francesco Sottile (Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France)
    Prof. Lucia Reining (Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau, France)
    Prof. Myrta Gruning (Queen's University Belfast, UK)
    Prof. Gian-Marco Rignanese (Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium)
    Prof. Claudio Verdozzi (University of Lund Sweden)

Composition of the Contact Group

It is appointed by the SC. Each member is more particularly overseeing an aspect of the user infrastructure. The current Contact Group members are:
    Dr. Silvana Botti (Friedrich-Schiller Universität Jena, Germany) - efficient use of ETSF members' competences, especially for users' needs
    Prof. Xavier Gonze (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium) - internal and external communication
    Dr. Martin Stankovski (LU Open Innovation, Sweden) - contact with industry

The ETSF social Policy

The ETSF social policy would like to promote the future careers of young researchers, female and male, and be an example for a humanistic approach to science and research.